Eine Vielzahl von Stimmen bei der Zusammenstellung des Programms des Sydney WorldPride Festivals





LinkedIn

Neben dem Kreativdirektor des Festivals, Ben Graetz ( First Nations), und dem Kreativdirektor des Festivals, Daniel Clarke, stehen dem Team des Sydney WorldPride Festivals sechs kuratorische Mitarbeiter zur Seite, die ihr Fachwissen über ein breites Spektrum von Kunstformen einbringen.

Bhenji Ra, Dennis Golding, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Felicity Nicol, Harriet Gillies und Michael Kennedy bringen unterschiedliche berufliche und persönliche Erfahrungen in das Team ein und sorgen dafür, dass eine Vielzahl von Stimmen zur Entwicklung des Sydney WorldPride Festivalprogramms beiträgt. Die Erfahrungen dieser landesweit anerkannten Künstler und Kuratoren umfassen die Bereiche Jugendkunst, Literatur, Musik, bildende Kunst, Tanz, digitale Kunst, zeitgenössische Performance und House-Ballroom-Kultur.

Die assoziierten Unternehmen wurden im Jahr 2021 im Rahmen einer strengen offenen Ausschreibung ausgewählt.

Die Co-Kreativdirektoren des Festivals , Ben Graetz und Daniel Clarke, sagten:

"Es war immer unsere Vision sicherzustellen, dass verschiedene Meinungen, Fachkenntnisse und Erfahrungen zum Programm des Sydney WorldPride Festivals beitragen. Dieses Team von Associates ist außergewöhnlich und es ist ein Privileg, dass sie mit uns am Festivalprogramm arbeiten. Ihre Erfahrungen, Verbindungen, Ideen, Einsichten und ihre Leidenschaft werden uns dabei helfen, das Kunst- und Kulturprogramm des Sydney WorldPride Festivals relevant, inklusiv und inspirierend zu gestalten. Wir schätzen ihr Feedback zu unseren Programmideen und freuen uns auf intensive Diskussionen über das Programm, während wir es entwickeln."

Kate Wickett, CEO von Sydney WorldPride, sagte:

"Ich freue mich sehr, unsere Curatorial Associates willkommen zu heißen. Ihr breites Spektrum an Einblicken und Lebenserfahrungen wird uns dabei helfen, ein Weltklasse-Festival für LGBTQIA+-Kunst und -Kultur zu schaffen, das inklusiv, vielfältig und zugänglich ist und für jeden in unseren Gemeinschaften etwas bietet."

Das Sydney WorldPride Festival wird vom 17. Februar bis 5. März 2023 stattfinden. Das Kunst- und Kulturprogramm umfasst Performance, Literatur, digitale Kunst, bildende Kunst, Kunst im öffentlichen Raum, Essen, Mode, Film, Partys, Musik, Geschichte und andere Kunst- und Kulturerlebnisse, die unsere vielfältigen LGBTIQA+-Gemeinschaften widerspiegeln, mit einem starken Fokus auf Künstler der First Nations und des asiatisch-pazifischen Raums.

Der Schwerpunkt des Programms liegt auf der Entwicklung von Veranstaltungen, die eine Plattform und Gelegenheit für Stimmen bieten, die traditionell unterrepräsentiert sind, und gleichzeitig ein neues Publikum für LGBTQIA+ Kunst- und Kulturveranstaltungen erschließen.

Die Curatorial Associates helfen bei der Entwicklung des Programms durch Beratung und Feedback, Projektideen, Verbindungen zur Community und durch die Bewertung offener Ausschreibungen für die Aufnahme in das Festival. Das Team nahm seine Arbeit Ende 2021 auf, als es an der Bewertung von 63 Bewerbungen mitwirkte, die Sydney WorldPride für Investitionen in kreative Projekte erhielt.

Gemeinsam mit Ben und Daniel (Co-Kreativdirektoren des Festivals), Liza Mare-Syron (Kreativberaterin der First Nations), der neu ernannten Festivalproduzentin Lisa Freshwater, Alex Daoust (ausführender Produzent), Bonita Ayalon (Produzentin von Großveranstaltungen) und Laura Fazzolari (Festivalkoordinatorin) werden die Kuratoren das Veranstaltungsprogramm für das Sydney WorldPride Festival im Jahr 2023 erstellen und durchführen.

Die kuratorischen Mitarbeiter des Sydney WorldPride
Sydney WorldPride 2023's Curatorial Associates, im Uhrzeigersinn von oben links: Michael Kennedy, Dennis Golding, Harriet Gillies, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Bhenji Ra, Felicity Nicol.

BIOGRAFIEN DER KURATORISCHEN MITARBEITER

Dennis Golding

Dennis Golding ist ein Kamilaroi/Gamilaraay-Künstler aus dem Nordwesten von NSW und ist in Sydney geboren und aufgewachsen. Er arbeitet mit verschiedenen Medien wie Malerei, Video, Fotografie und Installation und setzt sich kritisch mit den sozialen, politischen und kulturellen Darstellungen von Rasse und Identität auseinander. Seine Arbeit basiert auf seinen eigenen Erfahrungen im städtischen Umfeld und auf seinen Kindheitserinnerungen.

Golding wuchs in einer Aborigine-Gemeinde in Redfern (oft als "The Block" bezeichnet) auf und war von Anfang an von Kunst umgeben. Als kleines Kind sah er oft seiner Mutter und Großmutter beim Malen auf großen Leinwänden und glänzenden Stoffen zu, die australische Pflanzen und Tiere, kulturelle Motive und menschliche Figuren darstellten. Bevor er seine formale Kunstausbildung begann, arbeitete Golding als Verwaltungspraktikant bei Nura Gili Indigenous Programs UNSW. Später entwickelte er seine berufliche Praxis an der Kunstschule durch Mentorenschaften mit führenden Kuratoren, Pädagogen und Künstlern.

Golding schloss 2019 mit einem Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) an der UNSW Art & Design ab und arbeitet nun unabhängig als Künstler und Kurator. Mit seiner künstlerischen und kuratorischen Praxis möchte Golding aussagekräftige Darstellungen der zeitgenössischen kulturellen Identität der Aborigines präsentieren, die Erzählungen über die Geschichte und die gelebten Erfahrungen von
vermitteln.

Harriet Gillies

Harriet ist eine preisgekrönte Performancekünstlerin, die mit einer Vielzahl von Performanceformen arbeitet. Sie hat in immersiven und interaktiven Projekten wie Pony Express' Ecosexual Bathhouse, PVI Collective's Blackmarket und Hermann Nitsch 150 Actions mitgewirkt. Hinter den Kulissen war Harriet als Man-Wrangler für Nat Randall und Anna Breckons The Second Woman tätig sowie als Co-Produktionsmanagerin und Tourmanagerin für Peaches' There's Only One Peach With a Hole in the Middle, das 2019 durch Europa tourte. Sie absolvierte Künstleraufenthalte mit Robert Wilson im Watermill Centre und Marina Abramović bei Kaldor Public Art Projects sowie Solo-Aufenthalte bei La Serre: Arts Vivants in Montreal und der Bearded Tit in Sydney. Ihre eigenen Performances wurden in Australien, Neuseeland und Nordamerika aufgeführt.

Jennifer Greer Holmes

Jennifer ist eine Produzentin von Live-Performance und Video, Künstlerin und DJ. Als Produzentin arbeitet sie mit Branch Nebula (SYD) und Vitalstatistix (ADL) zusammen. 2020 gründete sie Replay Creative (ADL), nachdem sie über ein Jahrzehnt lang eine unabhängige Praxis für Videografie und Kunstdokumentation betrieben hatte.

Jennifer war von 2012-2020 die kreative Produzentin und Managerin des Kunstmusik-Streichensembles Zephyr Quartet und von 2017-2020 die Klangkünstler Sweeney / König (auch bekannt als GIRL & Winter Witches).

Jennifer war Gründungsmitglied der Performance and Art Development Agency (PADA) und leitete das Festival of Unpopular Culture (2011 & 2013) mit. Sie hat in verschiedenen Funktionen an der Entwicklung und Präsentation Dutzender neuer australischer experimenteller Performance-Arbeiten mitgewirkt.

Als eine Hälfte von Bad Jelly DJs kuratiert sie seit 2013 Musik und Künstler für queere Clubnächte, Festivalbars und Kunstpartys. Jennifer leitete 2007/08 das Feast Festival (Adelaides queeres Kunst- und Kulturfestival) und hat auch in der Politik und im Non-Profit-Sektor gearbeitet.

Michael Louis Kennedy

Michael Louis Kennedy ist Dramatiker, Schriftsteller und Kulturschaffender und lebt in Sydney. In den Jahren 2020 und 2021 war er Co-Direktor des National Young Writers Festival, eines jährlichen Festivals, das normalerweise in Newcastle, NSW, stattfindet. Außerdem ist er derzeit Marketingmanager von Performing Lines, der nationalen Produktionsorganisation für zeitgenössische Performance. Zuvor hat er für das Sydney Fringe, Summerhall (Edinburgh Fringe) und Belvoir Street Theatre gearbeitet.

Seine Texte wurden u.a. in Overland, Voiceworks, Brag, Going Down Swinging, Transportation Press, Baby Teeth und Sydney Morning Herald veröffentlicht. Als Dramatiker hatte er Lesungen und Produktionen auf dem Sydney Fringe Festival, im Old 505, dem Sydney Mardi Gras's Playlist playreading festival und der Queer Performance Institution Queer Theory in Glasgow, Schottland. Derzeit ist er Mitglied der Emerging Writers Group der Sydney Theatre Company und nimmt an einem Mentorenprogramm von Kill Your Darlings teil, um einen neuen australischen Roman zu entwickeln.

Felicity Nicol

Felicity ist eine stolze queere, behinderte Künstlerin aus Sydneys Inner West. Nach dem Abschluss des NIDA-Regiekurses hat Felicity mit prominenten Künstlern aus der ganzen Welt zusammengearbeitet, darunter Ontroerend Goed (BEL), Punchdrunk & Gecko Physical Theatre (UK), Illutron (DEN) und Mammalian Diving Reflex (CAN). Felicity erhielt Stipendien des Australia Council for the Arts, ein Mike Walsh Fellowship und den Sandra Bates Directors Award.

Felicitys Aufgabe als Künstlerin ist es, unsere Annahmen über die Menschen und die Welt zu durchbrechen, um den kulturellen Blick auf diejenigen zu lenken, die ihn am meisten brauchen. Sie tut dies, indem sie das Politische mit dem Persönlichen verbindet und es mit Queer-Theorie, Feminismus und Humor würzt.

Felicity ist eine preisgekrönte Performance-Regisseurin und künstlerische Leiterin, die seit fast einem Jahrzehnt Arbeiten mit, von und für queere Jugendliche entwickelt. Dies begann mit der Entwicklung einer multidisziplinären Arbeit mit der lokalen Regenbogenjugend am Q Theatre in Penrith. Seitdem hat Felicity LGBTQIA+-Arbeiten und Partnerschaften mit Mardi Gras, the 78ers, Spark Youth Theatre, Australian Theatre for Young People, headspace, City of Sydney, Inner West Council, Customs House und vielen anderen geschaffen. Felicity ist bescheiden und unglaublich aufgeregt, dem talentierten Team hinter WorldPride 2023 beizutreten.

Bhenji Ra

Bhenji Ra ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin und Leiterin einer Gemeinschaft, deren Praxis Tanz, Choreografie, Video und Eventgestaltung miteinander verbindet. Sie ist die Mutter des House of Sle und die Pionierin der australischen Gesellschaft für Gesellschaftstanz. Sie hat die Gemeinschaft maßgeblich geprägt und Veranstaltungen wie den preisgekrönten Sissy Ball ins Leben gerufen, dessen Direktorin sie von 2018 bis 2020 war. In ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Arbeit beschäftigt sie sich häufig mit der Sezierung von Kulturtheorie und Identität, wobei sie ihre eigene persönliche Geschichte als Werkzeug zur Neuformulierung von Performance in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

Mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Besetzung und manchmal kollektiver Aktion spielt ihre Arbeit mit der Vielfältigkeit des Spektakels und bietet gleichzeitig Strategien, um Normativität und westliche Tanzkonventionen zu durchbrechen. Zusammenarbeit ist der Schlüssel zu ihrer Arbeit, da sie regelmäßig auf ihre eigene Gemeinschaft als wesentliche kritische Stimme zurückgreift. Sie ist außerdem Mitbegründerin des Kollektivs Club Ate.

Anerkennung des Landes

Der Sydney WorldPride findet auf dem Land der Gadigal, Cammeraygal, Bidjigal, Darug und Dharawal statt, die die traditionellen Hüter des Sydney-Beckens sind.

Wir zollen den Ältesten der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart unseren Respekt. Es war immer und wird immer Aborigine-Land sein.

Die Aborigines und Torres-Strait-Insulaner kommen aus vielen verschiedenen Clans und Gemeinschaften in ganz Australien und werden 2023 zusammenkommen, um gemeinsam mit unserer weltweiten LGBTQIA+-Gemeinschaft zu feiern.

A multiplicity of voices in the curation of Sydney WorldPride Festival Program





LinkedIn

Joining Festival Creative Director; First Nations, Ben Graetz and Festival Creative Director; Daniel Clarke are six Curatorial Associates who bring expertise across a wide range of artforms to the Sydney WorldPride Festival team.

Bhenji Ra, Dennis Golding, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Felicity Nicol, Harriet Gillies and Michael Kennedy each bring diverse professional and lived experiences to the team, ensuring a multiplicity of voices are contributing to the development of the Sydney WorldPride Festival Program. The experience of these nationally recognised artists and curators span youth arts, literature, music, visual arts, dance, digital arts, contemporary performance and house-ballroom culture.

The Associates were selected through a rigorous open EOI call-out during 2021.

Festival Co-Creative Directors Ben Graetz and Daniel Clarke said:

“It was always our vision to ensure that we had diverse opinions, expertise and experiences contributing to the Sydney WorldPride Festival Program. This team of Associates are exceptional and it is a privilege to have their minds on the Festival program with us. Their experience, connections, ideas, insights and passion will help us make sure that the Arts and Culture Program of the Sydney WorldPride Festival is relevant, inclusive and inspiring. We value their feedback on our programming ideas and look forward to rigorous discussions about the program as we develop it.”

Sydney WorldPride CEO Kate Wickett said:

“I’m thrilled to welcome our Curatorial Associates. Including their broad range of insights and life experiences will help us create a world-class Festival of LGBTQIA+ arts and culture that is inclusive, diverse and accessible, with something for everyone in our communities.”

The Sydney WorldPride Festival will run from Feb 17-March 5 2023. The arts and culture program will include performance, literature, digital art, visual arts, public art, food, fashion, film, parties, music, history and other arts and cultural experiences that reflect our diverse LGBTIQA+ communities with a strong focus on First Nations artists and the Asia Pacific.

The program will prioritise the development of events that provide a platform and opportunity for voices that have traditionally been under-represented whilst developing new audiences for LGBTQIA+ arts and cultural events.

The Curatorial Associates will assist with the development of the program through advice and feedback, project ideas, community connections and through the assessment of any open call out opportunities for inclusion in the Festival. The team commenced work towards the end of 2021 when they contributed to the assessment of 63 applications that Sydney WorldPride received for investment into Creative Projects.

The Curatorial Associates join Ben and Daniel (Festival Co-Creative Directors), Liza Mare-Syron (First Nations Creative Consultant) the newly appointed Festival Producer; Lisa FreshwaterAlex Daoust (Executive Producer) Bonita Ayalon (Major Events Producer), and Laura Fazzolari (Festival Coordinator) to create and deliver the program of events for the Sydney WorldPride Festival in 2023.

Sydney WorldPride's curatorial associates
Sydney WorldPride 2023’s Curatorial Associates, clockwise from top left: Michael Kennedy, Dennis Golding, Harriet Gillies, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Bhenji Ra, Felicity Nicol.

CURATORIAL ASSOCIATE BIOS

Dennis Golding

Dennis is a Kamilaroi/Gamilaraay artist from the north west of NSW and was born and raised in Sydney. Working in a range of mixed media including painting, video, photography and installation, Golding critiques the social, political and cultural representations of race and identity. His practice is drawn from his own experiences living in urban environments and through childhood memories.

Golding was surrounded by art from his urban upbringing living in an Aboriginal community in Redfern (often referred to as ’The Block’). As a young child, he often watched his mother and grandmother paint on large canvas and sheen fabrics which depicted Australian native plants and animals, cultural motifs and human figures. Before entering his formal art training, Golding worked as an administrative trainee at Nura Gili Indigenous Programs UNSW. He later developed his professional practice in art school through mentorships with leading curators, educators and artists.

Golding graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) at UNSW Art & Design in 2019 and now works independently as an artist and curator. Through his artistic and curatorial practice, Golding aims to present powerful representations of contemporary Aboriginal cultural identity that inform narratives of
history and lived experiences.

Harriet Gillies

Harriet is an award-winning performance artist working across a range of performance modes. She has performed in immersive and interactive projects such as Pony Express’ Ecosexual Bathhouse, PVI Collective’s Blackmarket and Hermann Nitsch 150 Actions. Backstage Harriet has been a man-wrangler for Nat Randall and Anna Breckon’s the Second Woman and co-production manager and tour manager for Peaches’ There’s Only One Peach With a Hole in the Middle, which toured across Europe in 2019. She has completed artist residencies with Robert Wilson at the Watermill Centre and Marina Abramović at Kaldor Public Art Projects, as well as solo residencies with La Serre: Arts Vivants in Montreal, and the Bearded Tit in Sydney. Her own performances have been presented across Australia, New Zealand and North America.

Jennifer Greer Holmes

Jennifer is a producer of live performance and video, an artist and DJ. As a producer she works with Branch Nebula (SYD) and Vitalstatistix (ADL) and co-founded Replay Creative (ADL) in 2020 after maintaining an independent videography and arts documentation practice for over a decade.

Jennifer was the creative producer and manager of art music string ensemble Zephyr Quartet from 2012-2020 & sound artists Sweeney / König (fka GIRL & Winter Witches) from 2017-2020.

Jennifer was a founding board member of the Performance and Art Development Agency (PADA) and co-directed The Festival of Unpopular Culture (2011 & 2013). She has worked in the development and presentation of dozens of new Australian experimental performance works in a range of roles.

As one half of Bad Jelly DJs, she’s curated music and artists for queer club nights, festival bars and art parties since 2013. Jennifer managed Feast Festival (Adelaide’s queer arts and cultural festival in 2007/08) and has also worked in politics and the non-profit sector.

Michael Louis Kennedy

Michael Louis Kennedy is a playwright, writer and arts professional based in Sydney. In 2020 and 2021 he has served as the Co-Director of the National Young Writers Festival, an annual festival usually based in Newcastle, NSW. He is also currently the marketing manager of Performing Lines, the national producing organisation for contemporary performance. He has previously worked for the Sydney Fringe, Summerhall (Edinburgh Fringe) and Belvoir Street Theatre.

His writing has been featured in Overland, Voiceworks, Brag, Going Down Swinging, Transportation Press, Baby Teeth, Sydney Morning Herald and more. As a playwright he has had readings and productions on the Sydney Fringe Festival, at the Old 505, Sydney Mardi Gras’s Playlist playreading festival, and the staple queer performance institution Queer Theory in Glasgow, Scotland. He is currently part of Sydney Theatre Company’s Emerging Writers Group, as well as undertaking a mentorship through Kill Your Darlings to develop a new Australian novel.

Felicity Nicol

Felicity is a proud queer, disabled artist from Sydney’s Inner West. After graduating from NIDA’s Directors course, Felicity has gone on to work with prominent artists from around the world, including Ontroerend Goed (BEL), Punchdrunk & Gecko Physical Theatre (UK), Illutron (DEN) and Mammalian Diving Reflex (CAN). Felicity has been a recipient of Australia Council for the Arts Grants, a Mike Walsh Fellowship and the Sandra Bates Directors Award.

Felicity’s mission as an artist is to interrupt our assumptions about people, and the world, in order to shift the cultural lens towards those who need it most. She does this by intersecting the political with the personal and flavouring it with queer theory, feminism and humour.

An award-winning performance director and Artistic Director, Felicity has been creating work with, by and for queer young people for almost a decade. This began by devising multi-disciplined work with local rainbow youth at the Q Theatre in Penrith. Since then, Felicity has gone on to make LGBTQIA+ work and partnerships with Mardi Gras, the 78ers, Spark Youth Theatre, Australian Theatre for Young People, headspace, City of Sydney, Inner West Council, Customs House and many more. Felicity is humbled and incredibly excited to join the talented team behind WorldPride 2023.

Bhenji Ra

Bhenji Ra is an interdisciplinary artist and community leader whose practice combines dance, choreography, video and event making. She is the mother of the House of Sle as well as the pioneer to the Australian ballroom community. She has been a pivotal voice in shaping the community and creating events such as the award-winning Sissy Ball, which she was the director from 2018 – 2020. Her own artistic work is often concerned with the dissection of cultural theory and identity, centralizing her own personal histories as a tool to reframe performance.

With an emphasis on occupation and at times collective action, her work plays with the multiplicities of spectacle while offering strategies to disrupt normativity and western dance convention. Collaboration is key to her work as she regularly accesses her own community as an essential critical voice. She is also a co-founding artist in the collective Club Ate.

Acknowledgement of country

Sydney WorldPride will take place on the lands of the Gadigal, Cammeraygal, Bidjigal, Darug, Dharawal people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Sydney Basin.

We pay our Respects to their Elders past and present. Always was Always will be Aboriginal Land.

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people come from many different clans and communities across Australia & in 2023 will come together as one, to celebrate with our global LGBTQIA+ community.