悉尼世界自豪节节目策划中的多种声音





ǞǞǞ

与节日创意总监;第一民族,Ben Graetz和节日创意总监;Daniel Clarke一起的是六位策展助理,他们为悉尼世界自豪节团队带来了广泛的艺术形式的专业知识。

Bhenji Ra、Dennis Golding、Jennifer Greer Holmes、Felicity Nicol、Harriet GilliesMichael Kennedy分别为团队带来了不同的专业和生活经验,确保有多种声音为悉尼世界自豪节项目的发展做出贡献。这些全国知名的艺术家和策展人的经验涵盖了青年艺术、文学、音乐、视觉艺术、舞蹈、数字艺术、当代表演和室内舞厅文化。

联营公司是在2021年通过严格的公开意向书征集而被选中的。

电影节联合创意总监本-格雷茨丹尼尔-克拉克说。

"我们的愿景一直是确保我们有不同的意见、专业知识和经验为悉尼世界自豪节项目作出贡献。这个团队的成员都很出色,能让他们和我们一起思考艺术节项目是一种荣幸。他们的经验、关系、想法、见解和热情将帮助我们确保悉尼世界自豪节的艺术和文化项目是相关的、包容的和鼓舞人心的。我们重视他们对我们的节目创意的反馈,并期待着在我们制定节目时对其进行严格的讨论"。

悉尼WorldPride首席执行官凯特-威克特说

"我很高兴欢迎我们的策展人助理。包括他们广泛的见解和生活经验将帮助我们创造一个世界级的LGBTQIA+艺术和文化节,它具有包容性、多样性和可及性,为我们社区中的每个人提供一些东西。"

悉尼世界自豪节将于2023年2月17日至3月5日举行。艺术和文化项目将包括表演、文学、数字艺术、视觉艺术、公共艺术、食品、时尚、电影、派对、音乐、历史和其他艺术和文化体验,反映我们不同的LGBTIQA+社区,并特别关注第一民族艺术家和亚太地区。

该计划将优先发展那些为传统上代表性不足的声音提供平台和机会的活动,同时为LGBTQIA+艺术和文化活动发展新的观众。

策展助理将通过建议和反馈、项目想法、社区联系,以及通过评估任何公开征集的机会来协助项目的发展,以纳入节日。该团队在2021年年底开始工作,当时他们为评估悉尼世界游行组织收到的63份投资于创意项目的申请做出了贡献。

策展合伙人与本和丹尼尔(节日联合创意总监)、莉莎-马雷-赛伦(原住民创意顾问)、新任命的节日制作人、丽莎-弗莱沃特亚历克斯-道斯特(执行制作人)、博尼塔-阿亚隆(重大活动制作人)和劳拉-法佐拉里(节日协调员)一起,为2023年的悉尼世界自豪节创造和提供活动项目。

悉尼WorldPride的策展人助理
2023年悉尼世界游行的策展人,从左上角顺时针方向。Michael Kennedy, Dennis Golding, Harriet Gillies, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Bhenji Ra, Felicity Nicol.

馆长助理简介

丹尼斯-戈尔丁

丹尼斯是一位来自新南威尔士州西北部的Kamilaroi/Gamilaraay艺术家,在悉尼出生和长大。在一系列的混合媒体中工作,包括绘画、录像、摄影和装置,戈尔丁对种族和身份的社会、政治和文化表现进行批评。他的实践来自于他自己在城市环境中生活的经历和童年的记忆。

戈尔丁生活在雷德芬的原住民社区(通常被称为 "街区"),在他的城市成长过程中被艺术所包围。小时候,他经常看着他的母亲和祖母在大帆布和光泽织物上作画,描绘澳大利亚本土植物和动物、文化主题和人物。在进入正式的艺术培训之前,戈尔丁在新南威尔士大学的Nura Gili土著项目担任行政培训生。后来,他在艺术学校通过与领先的策展人、教育家和艺术家的指导,发展了他的专业实践。

戈尔丁于2019年毕业于新南威尔士大学艺术与设计学院,获得美术学士(荣誉)学位,现在作为艺术家和策展人独立工作。通过他的艺术和策展实践,戈尔丁旨在呈现当代原住民文化身份的有力表现,为
历史和生活经验的叙述提供信息。

Harriet Gillies

哈丽特是一个获奖的表演艺术家,在一系列的表演模式中工作。她曾在沉浸式和互动式项目中表演,如Pony Express的Ecosexual Bathhouse、PVI Collective的Blackmarket和Hermann Nitsch 150 Actions。在后台,哈丽特曾是纳特-兰德尔和安娜-布雷肯的《第二个女人》的男主角,以及桃子的《只有一个中间有洞的桃子》的联合制作人和巡演经理,该剧于2019年在欧洲巡演。她已经完成了与罗伯特-威尔逊在Watermill中心和玛丽娜-阿布拉莫维奇在Kaldor公共艺术项目的艺术家驻地,以及与La Serre的个人驻地。蒙特利尔的Arts Vivants和悉尼的Bearded Tit的个人驻留。她自己的表演在澳大利亚、新西兰和北美都有展出。

Jennifer Greer Holmes

珍妮弗是一位现场表演和视频的制作人,也是一位艺术家和DJ。作为制作人,她与Branch Nebula(SYD)和Vitalstatistix(ADL)合作,在维持了十多年的独立录像和艺术记录实践后,于2020年共同创立了Replay Creative(ADL)。

2012-2020年,珍妮弗是艺术音乐弦乐团Zephyr Quartet的创意制作人和经理;2017-2020年,声音艺术家Sweeney / König(fka GIRL & Winter Witches)。

詹妮弗是表演和艺术发展机构(PADA)的创始董事会成员,并共同指导了不受欢迎的文化节(2011年和2013年)。她曾以各种角色参与了几十个澳大利亚新实验表演作品的开发和展示。

作为Bad Jelly DJs的成员之一,她自2013年起为同性恋俱乐部之夜、节日酒吧和艺术派对策划音乐和艺术家。珍妮弗曾管理过盛宴节(2007/08年阿德莱德的同性恋艺术和文化节),也曾在政治和非营利部门工作。

迈克尔-路易斯-肯尼迪

迈克尔-路易斯-肯尼迪是驻悉尼的剧作家、作家和艺术专业人士。在2020年和2021年,他曾担任国家青年作家节的联合主任,这是一个通常设在新南威尔士州纽卡斯尔的年度节日。他目前也是全国当代表演制作组织Performing Lines的市场经理。他以前曾为悉尼艺穗会、Summerhall(爱丁堡艺穗会)和Belvoir Street剧院工作。

他的作品在Overland、Voiceworks、Brag、Going Down Swinging、Transportation Press、Baby Teeth、Sydney Morning Herald等刊物上发表。作为一名剧作家,他曾在悉尼艺穗节、老505剧院、悉尼狂欢节的Playlist读剧节以及苏格兰格拉斯哥的主要同性恋表演机构Queer Theory进行过阅读和演出。他目前是悉尼剧院公司新锐作家小组的成员,同时通过Kill Your Darlings进行指导,开发一部新的澳大利亚小说。

费利西蒂-尼科尔

Felicity是一位来自悉尼内西区的自豪的同性恋、残疾艺术家。从NIDA的导演课程毕业后,Felicity与世界各地的著名艺术家合作,包括Ontroerend Goed(比利时)、Punchdrunk & Gecko Physical Theatre(英国)、Illutron(丹麦)和Mammalian Diving Reflex(加拿大)。费利西蒂曾获得澳大利亚艺术委员会的资助、迈克-沃尔什奖学金和桑德拉-贝茨导演奖。

作为一名艺术家,Felicity的使命是打断我们对人和世界的假设,以便将文化视角转向那些最需要它的人。她通过将政治与个人交织在一起,并加入同性恋理论、女权主义和幽默感来实现这一目标。

作为一个获奖的表演导演和艺术总监,费利西蒂近十年来一直与同性恋青年一起创作,并为他们创作。这开始是在彭里斯的Q剧院与当地的彩虹青年一起设计多学科的作品。从那时起,Felicity就开始与Mardi Gras、the 78ers、Spark Youth Theatre、Australian Theatre for Young People、headspace、City of Sydney、Inner West Council、Customs House等合作,制作LGBTQIA+作品。费利西蒂对加入2023年世界游行背后的天才团队感到谦卑和难以置信的兴奋。

Bhenji Ra

Bhenji Ra是一位跨学科的艺术家和社区领袖,她的实践结合了舞蹈、编舞、视频和活动制作。她是Sle之家的母亲,也是澳大利亚舞厅社区的先驱者。她在塑造社区和创建活动方面一直是一个关键的声音,如获奖的Sissy Ball,她在2018-2020年担任导演。她自己的艺术作品经常关注对文化理论和身份的剖析,把她自己的个人历史作为重塑表演的工具来集中。

她的作品强调占领,有时也强调集体行动,她的作品玩弄了奇观的多重性,同时提供了破坏规范性和西方舞蹈惯例的策略。合作是她工作的关键,因为她经常进入自己的社区作为一个重要的批评声音。她也是集体俱乐部Ate的共同创始人之一。

对国家的确认

悉尼世界游行将在Gadigal, Cammeraygal, Bidjigal, Darug, Dharawal人的土地上进行,他们是悉尼盆地的传统监护人。

我们向他们过去和现在的长老表示敬意。始终是原住民的土地,也将是原住民的土地。

原住民和托雷斯海峡岛民来自澳大利亚的许多不同部族和社区,在2023年将作为一个整体聚集在一起,与我们的全球LGBTQIA+社区一起庆祝。

A multiplicity of voices in the curation of Sydney WorldPride Festival Program





LinkedIn

Joining Festival Creative Director; First Nations, Ben Graetz and Festival Creative Director; Daniel Clarke are six Curatorial Associates who bring expertise across a wide range of artforms to the Sydney WorldPride Festival team.

Bhenji Ra, Dennis Golding, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Felicity Nicol, Harriet Gillies and Michael Kennedy each bring diverse professional and lived experiences to the team, ensuring a multiplicity of voices are contributing to the development of the Sydney WorldPride Festival Program. The experience of these nationally recognised artists and curators span youth arts, literature, music, visual arts, dance, digital arts, contemporary performance and house-ballroom culture.

The Associates were selected through a rigorous open EOI call-out during 2021.

Festival Co-Creative Directors Ben Graetz and Daniel Clarke said:

“It was always our vision to ensure that we had diverse opinions, expertise and experiences contributing to the Sydney WorldPride Festival Program. This team of Associates are exceptional and it is a privilege to have their minds on the Festival program with us. Their experience, connections, ideas, insights and passion will help us make sure that the Arts and Culture Program of the Sydney WorldPride Festival is relevant, inclusive and inspiring. We value their feedback on our programming ideas and look forward to rigorous discussions about the program as we develop it.”

Sydney WorldPride CEO Kate Wickett said:

“I’m thrilled to welcome our Curatorial Associates. Including their broad range of insights and life experiences will help us create a world-class Festival of LGBTQIA+ arts and culture that is inclusive, diverse and accessible, with something for everyone in our communities.”

The Sydney WorldPride Festival will run from Feb 17-March 5 2023. The arts and culture program will include performance, literature, digital art, visual arts, public art, food, fashion, film, parties, music, history and other arts and cultural experiences that reflect our diverse LGBTIQA+ communities with a strong focus on First Nations artists and the Asia Pacific.

The program will prioritise the development of events that provide a platform and opportunity for voices that have traditionally been under-represented whilst developing new audiences for LGBTQIA+ arts and cultural events.

The Curatorial Associates will assist with the development of the program through advice and feedback, project ideas, community connections and through the assessment of any open call out opportunities for inclusion in the Festival. The team commenced work towards the end of 2021 when they contributed to the assessment of 63 applications that Sydney WorldPride received for investment into Creative Projects.

The Curatorial Associates join Ben and Daniel (Festival Co-Creative Directors), Liza Mare-Syron (First Nations Creative Consultant) the newly appointed Festival Producer; Lisa FreshwaterAlex Daoust (Executive Producer) Bonita Ayalon (Major Events Producer), and Laura Fazzolari (Festival Coordinator) to create and deliver the program of events for the Sydney WorldPride Festival in 2023.

Sydney WorldPride's curatorial associates
Sydney WorldPride 2023’s Curatorial Associates, clockwise from top left: Michael Kennedy, Dennis Golding, Harriet Gillies, Jennifer Greer Holmes, Bhenji Ra, Felicity Nicol.

CURATORIAL ASSOCIATE BIOS

Dennis Golding

Dennis is a Kamilaroi/Gamilaraay artist from the north west of NSW and was born and raised in Sydney. Working in a range of mixed media including painting, video, photography and installation, Golding critiques the social, political and cultural representations of race and identity. His practice is drawn from his own experiences living in urban environments and through childhood memories.

Golding was surrounded by art from his urban upbringing living in an Aboriginal community in Redfern (often referred to as ’The Block’). As a young child, he often watched his mother and grandmother paint on large canvas and sheen fabrics which depicted Australian native plants and animals, cultural motifs and human figures. Before entering his formal art training, Golding worked as an administrative trainee at Nura Gili Indigenous Programs UNSW. He later developed his professional practice in art school through mentorships with leading curators, educators and artists.

Golding graduated with a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) at UNSW Art & Design in 2019 and now works independently as an artist and curator. Through his artistic and curatorial practice, Golding aims to present powerful representations of contemporary Aboriginal cultural identity that inform narratives of
history and lived experiences.

Harriet Gillies

Harriet is an award-winning performance artist working across a range of performance modes. She has performed in immersive and interactive projects such as Pony Express’ Ecosexual Bathhouse, PVI Collective’s Blackmarket and Hermann Nitsch 150 Actions. Backstage Harriet has been a man-wrangler for Nat Randall and Anna Breckon’s the Second Woman and co-production manager and tour manager for Peaches’ There’s Only One Peach With a Hole in the Middle, which toured across Europe in 2019. She has completed artist residencies with Robert Wilson at the Watermill Centre and Marina Abramović at Kaldor Public Art Projects, as well as solo residencies with La Serre: Arts Vivants in Montreal, and the Bearded Tit in Sydney. Her own performances have been presented across Australia, New Zealand and North America.

Jennifer Greer Holmes

Jennifer is a producer of live performance and video, an artist and DJ. As a producer she works with Branch Nebula (SYD) and Vitalstatistix (ADL) and co-founded Replay Creative (ADL) in 2020 after maintaining an independent videography and arts documentation practice for over a decade.

Jennifer was the creative producer and manager of art music string ensemble Zephyr Quartet from 2012-2020 & sound artists Sweeney / König (fka GIRL & Winter Witches) from 2017-2020.

Jennifer was a founding board member of the Performance and Art Development Agency (PADA) and co-directed The Festival of Unpopular Culture (2011 & 2013). She has worked in the development and presentation of dozens of new Australian experimental performance works in a range of roles.

As one half of Bad Jelly DJs, she’s curated music and artists for queer club nights, festival bars and art parties since 2013. Jennifer managed Feast Festival (Adelaide’s queer arts and cultural festival in 2007/08) and has also worked in politics and the non-profit sector.

Michael Louis Kennedy

Michael Louis Kennedy is a playwright, writer and arts professional based in Sydney. In 2020 and 2021 he has served as the Co-Director of the National Young Writers Festival, an annual festival usually based in Newcastle, NSW. He is also currently the marketing manager of Performing Lines, the national producing organisation for contemporary performance. He has previously worked for the Sydney Fringe, Summerhall (Edinburgh Fringe) and Belvoir Street Theatre.

His writing has been featured in Overland, Voiceworks, Brag, Going Down Swinging, Transportation Press, Baby Teeth, Sydney Morning Herald and more. As a playwright he has had readings and productions on the Sydney Fringe Festival, at the Old 505, Sydney Mardi Gras’s Playlist playreading festival, and the staple queer performance institution Queer Theory in Glasgow, Scotland. He is currently part of Sydney Theatre Company’s Emerging Writers Group, as well as undertaking a mentorship through Kill Your Darlings to develop a new Australian novel.

Felicity Nicol

Felicity is a proud queer, disabled artist from Sydney’s Inner West. After graduating from NIDA’s Directors course, Felicity has gone on to work with prominent artists from around the world, including Ontroerend Goed (BEL), Punchdrunk & Gecko Physical Theatre (UK), Illutron (DEN) and Mammalian Diving Reflex (CAN). Felicity has been a recipient of Australia Council for the Arts Grants, a Mike Walsh Fellowship and the Sandra Bates Directors Award.

Felicity’s mission as an artist is to interrupt our assumptions about people, and the world, in order to shift the cultural lens towards those who need it most. She does this by intersecting the political with the personal and flavouring it with queer theory, feminism and humour.

An award-winning performance director and Artistic Director, Felicity has been creating work with, by and for queer young people for almost a decade. This began by devising multi-disciplined work with local rainbow youth at the Q Theatre in Penrith. Since then, Felicity has gone on to make LGBTQIA+ work and partnerships with Mardi Gras, the 78ers, Spark Youth Theatre, Australian Theatre for Young People, headspace, City of Sydney, Inner West Council, Customs House and many more. Felicity is humbled and incredibly excited to join the talented team behind WorldPride 2023.

Bhenji Ra

Bhenji Ra is an interdisciplinary artist and community leader whose practice combines dance, choreography, video and event making. She is the mother of the House of Sle as well as the pioneer to the Australian ballroom community. She has been a pivotal voice in shaping the community and creating events such as the award-winning Sissy Ball, which she was the director from 2018 – 2020. Her own artistic work is often concerned with the dissection of cultural theory and identity, centralizing her own personal histories as a tool to reframe performance.

With an emphasis on occupation and at times collective action, her work plays with the multiplicities of spectacle while offering strategies to disrupt normativity and western dance convention. Collaboration is key to her work as she regularly accesses her own community as an essential critical voice. She is also a co-founding artist in the collective Club Ate.

Acknowledgement of country

Sydney WorldPride will take place on the lands of the Gadigal, Cammeraygal, Bidjigal, Darug, Dharawal people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Sydney Basin.

We pay our Respects to their Elders past and present. Always was Always will be Aboriginal Land.

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people come from many different clans and communities across Australia & in 2023 will come together as one, to celebrate with our global LGBTQIA+ community.