将彩虹带回德勤

作者:Stephen Russell





ǞǞǞ

罗比-罗伯逊(Robbie Robertson)是德勤澳大利亚团队的变革设计大师,也是悉尼世界游行和悉尼男女同性恋狂欢节的高级执行赞助商,在今年的狂欢节游行中,他与同事们肩并肩地在悉尼板球场周围游行,成千上万的人为他们欢呼,他几乎不敢相信自己的喜悦。

他回忆说:"我当时充满了感情,眼泪都流下来了。"他感叹,在过去20年里,我们在支持LGBTIQIA+人方面取得了多大的进步。"二十二年前,我蜷缩在厨房的地板上,因为我是一名同性恋者而对去工作感到恶心。而我在这里,挥舞着代表我的公司的旗帜在SCG走动。我对此感到非常自豪。"

罗伯逊在奥班长大,这是一个拥抱苏格兰西海岸的美丽小镇,他坚持认为自己实际上村里唯一的同性恋。年轻时搬到伦敦,发现天黑后索霍区的乐趣,这为他提供了一种公开生活的新方式。不幸的是,一位同事在那里发现了他,开始在工作中以他的性取向为由欺负他。他在工作中没有出来,对他的心理健康造成了可怕的后果,导致他多年前蜷缩在厨房的地板上。

罗比-罗伯逊站在一间办公室里
Robbie Robertson

"我当时非常沮丧和不开心,但我不想对我的老板说什么,"他回忆说。"最终,有一天晚上我正在加班,他走过来问:'发生了什么事?'我崩溃了,说,'我是同性恋',他说,'是这样吗?

那次谈话改变了一切。罗伯逊觉得他可以敞开心扉谈论欺凌行为,并立即得到保证会得到处理,而且他应该休息几天。当他回到工作岗位时,那位同事已经离开了,他被一个坚持支持他的团队欢迎回来,他们不在乎他是同性恋,反正他们一直都知道。这是罗伯逊一直小心翼翼地回报的善意。

2022年狂欢节上身着绿色服装的德勤员工群体
德勤团队参加2022年狂欢节游行

2004年,他搬到了悉尼,本来打算休息一个月,但却一发不可收拾。最终,他成立了自己的设计公司MashUp,德勤是他的固定客户。他们看重他的技能,买下了他的生意,让他全职加入。德勤重视他的个性,并希望他把自己在这个世界上的活动方式带到工作中,包括不必穿西装。

他在内部网上找到了一个骄傲的网络页面,给上面列出的所有四位同事发了电子邮件。不幸的是,他们已经离开了公司。"罗伯逊说:"在那个时候,没有人负责,所以我决定让我们再次把它变成现实。

快几年过去了,德勤的员工自豪感网络StandOUT再次蓬勃发展,德勤在狂欢节上派出了热情的代表。罗伯逊还帮助推动公司积极支持明年的世界骄傲大会。在他看来,自豪感是全年的。"这绝对是关于整个组织的交叉性和包容性。我们希望人们去上班,做自己。我们需要鼓励真实性"。

这意味着确保德勤的所有政策、程序、领导力举措、培训和拨款项目都是对LGBTIQA+的包容。"你知道,在南昌市政府周围游行的人中有70%是盟友,还有很多人给我打电话说在家里和他们的孩子一起观看,感受到我们所有人的那种自豪感,"罗伯逊说,他专注于将工作中的支持性文化扩展到所有员工、他们的伙伴、家人和朋友。

"我坚持把商业案例放在一起,以确保资金,不仅支持澳大利亚公司,而且支持全球"。

真实性是关键,罗伯逊带头开展了一个关于 "洗粉 "的全球研究项目,以确保德勤的支持是有意义和受尊重的。"我们将在明年的人权大会上介绍研究结果,作为世界游行的一部分,这非常令人兴奋。我们还在我们所有的主要办公室--伦敦、洛杉矶和纽约--周围征求他们的支持,这样他们的声音就会被听到,他们将在明年三月被代表。"

罗伯逊希望确保德勤的下一代员工永远不会面临像他那样的情况。"我们正在通过我们的毕业生和初级团队成员传达这一信息,确保他们在我们如何构建未来的战略中拥有发言权。他们是我们未来的领导者,我们的工作是为他们创造一个安全的空间,让他们做自己并获得成功。"

注册悉尼世界游行通讯,以获得像这样的故事,以及2023年活动的预售权,通过电子邮件发给你。

2022年狂欢节上身着绿色服装的德勤员工小团体
德勤出席2022年狂欢节

TikTokFacebookInstagramTwitter上加入悉尼世界游行社区。

对国家的确认

悉尼世界游行将在Gadigal, Cammeraygal, Bidjigal, Darug, Dharawal人的土地上进行,他们是悉尼盆地的传统监护人。

我们向他们过去和现在的长老表示敬意。始终是原住民的土地,也将是原住民的土地。

原住民和托雷斯海峡岛民来自澳大利亚的许多不同部族和社区,在2023年将作为一个整体聚集在一起,与我们的全球LGBTQIA+社区一起庆祝。

Bringing the rainbow back into Deloitte

By Stephen Russell





LinkedIn

Robbie Robertson, a change-making design guru in the Deloitte Australia team and the senior exec sponsor for Sydney WorldPride and Sydney Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras, could hardly believe the joy he felt while marching shoulder-to-shoulder with his colleagues around the Sydney Cricket Ground during this year’s Mardi Gras Parade as thousands cheered them on.

“I was so full of emotion that I had tears running down my face,” he recalls, marvelling just how far we’ve come when it comes to supporting LGBTIQIA+ people in the last two decades. “Twenty-two years ago I was curled up on my kitchen floor feeling sick about going to work because I was a gay man. And here I was, walking around the SCG waving a flag representing my company. I’m just so proud of that.”

Growing up in Oban, a stunningly beautiful town hugging the West Coast of Scotland, Robertson insists he actually was the only gay in the village. Moving to London as a young man and discovering the joys of Soho after dark suggested a new way to live openly. Unfortunately, a colleague who spotted him there began to bully him at work on the basis of his sexuality. He wasn’t out at work, and there were terrible consequences for his mental health, leading to him curling up on that kitchen floor all those years ago.

Robbie Robertson standing in an office
Robbie Robertson

“I was very depressed and unhappy, but I didn’t want to say anything to my boss,” he remembers. “Eventually, I was working late one night and he came over and asked, ‘What’s happened? You used to be so vibrant and happy?’ I broke down and said, ‘I’m gay,’ and he said, ‘Is that it?’”

That conversation changed everything. Robertson felt he could open up about the bullying and was immediately reassured it would be handled, and that he should take a couple of days off. When he returned to work, that colleague was gone and he was welcomed back by a team who insisted they had his back, that they didn’t care that he was gay and that they had always known anyway. It’s a kindness Robertson has always taken care to pay forward.

Group of Deloitte employees in green costumes at Mardi Gras 2022
The Deloitte team at Mardi Gras Parade 2022

Moving to Sydney in 2004, he had planned to take a month off but hit the ground running. Eventually setting up his own design company MashUp, Deloitte was a regular client. Valuing his skillset, they bought his business and brought him into the fold full-time. Deloitte valued his individuality and wanted him to bring his way of moving through the world to work, including not having to wear a suit.

Finding a pride network page on the intranet, he emailed all four colleagues listed there. Sadly, they’d already left the business. “There was nobody, at that point, taking charge, so I decided let’s bring it to life again,” Robertson says.

Fast forward a few years and Deloitte’s employee pride network StandOUT is thriving once more, with Deloitte fielding enthusiastic representation at Mardi Gras. Robertson has also helped drive the company’s active support of next year’s WorldPride. The way he sees it, pride is all year round. “It’s absolutely about intersectionality and inclusion across the entire organisation. We want people to turn up to work and just be themselves. We need to encourage authenticity.”

That means ensuring all of Deloitte’s policies, procedures, leadership initiatives, training and grant programmes are LGBTIQA+ inclusive. “You know, 70% of the people marching around the SCG were allies, and many more called me about watching at home with their children and feeling that sense of pride in us all,” Robertson says of the supportive culture at work he’s focused on extending to all employees, their partners, family and friends.

“I was adamant about putting together the business case to secure funding and support not only the Australian firm, but also globally.”

Authenticity is key, and Robertson spearheaded a global research project on pink-washing to ensure that Deloitte’s support is meaningful and respectful. “We’ll be presenting the results at the Human Rights Conference as part of WorldPride next year, which is very exciting. We’re also going around all our key offices – in London, LA and New York – asking for their support so that their voice will be heard and they will be represented next March.”

Robertson wants to make sure that the next generation of Deloitte employees never faces a situation like he did. “We’re driving that message through our grads and our junior team members, making sure that they have a voice in how we structure our strategies going forward. They are our future leaders, and our job is to create a safe space for them to be themselves and to be successful.”

Sign up to the Sydney WorldPride newsletter to get stories like this one emailed to you, plus pre-sale access to 2023 events.

Small group of Deloitte employees in green costumes at Mardi Gras 2022
Deloitte at Mardi Gras 2022

Join the Sydney WorldPride community on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and TikTok

Acknowledgement of country

Sydney WorldPride will take place on the lands of the Gadigal, Cammeraygal, Bidjigal, Darug, Dharawal people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Sydney Basin.

We pay our Respects to their Elders past and present. Always was Always will be Aboriginal Land.

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people come from many different clans and communities across Australia & in 2023 will come together as one, to celebrate with our global LGBTQIA+ community.