تحت مظلة الآس – كيري تشين في اليوم العالمي للاجنسانية





لينكد إن

اليوم هو اليوم العالمي للاجنسانية! للاحتفال ، تحدثنا إلى كيري تشين - زعيم المجتمع وعضو لجنة الفخر في سيدني وورلدبرايد ، حول مظلة الآس وتجاربه في اكتشاف هويته اللاجنسية. 

بالنسبة لأولئك الذين قد لا يكونون على دراية ، هل يمكنك إخبارنا عن اللاجنسية وما هي "مظلة الآس 

مظلة الآس هي فئة من التوجهات الجنسية التي يتم تعريفها من خلال عدم وجود جاذبية جنسية ، بما في ذلك اللاجنسية ، و demisexuality ، واللاجنسية الرمادية. هناك أيضا العديد من المصطلحات الأخرى لوصف هويات أكثر تحديدا تتعلق باللاجنسية. [Ace هو لقب - وليس اختصارا.] 

اللاجنسية هي عندما يعاني الشخص من جاذبية جنسية قليلة أو معدومة. Demisexuality هو عندما يكون الشخص قادرا فقط على تجربة الانجذاب الجنسي بعد تطوير رابطة عاطفية مع شخص ما. اللاجنسية الرمادية هي عندما يكون الشخص نادرا ما يعاني من الانجذاب الجنسي. 

وينبغي أيضا التأكيد على أن كونك آيس يتعلق بالجذب - وليس العمل أو الرغبة الجنسية أو الموقف تجاه الجنس. بعض الناس الآس يستمتعون بممارسة الجنس ، والبعض الآخر لا يفعل ذلك! كما أنها ليست حالة طبية. 

اللاجنسية منفصلة أيضا عن اللارومانسية. يتم تعريف الرومانسية من خلال عدم وجود جاذبية رومانسية. بعض الأشخاص اللاجنسيين هم أيضا غير رومانسيين (مثلي) ، والبعض الآخر يعاني من جاذبية رومانسية. يعرف الفصل بين الانجذاب الجنسي والرومانسي باسم نموذج الجذب المقسم (SAM). في حين أنها نشأت في المجتمع اللاجنسي ، يمكن أن تنطبق المصطلحات أيضا على أي شخص لا يتماشى توجهه الرومانسي مع توجهه الجنسي. 

كيف كانت رحلتك لاكتشاف اللاجنسية الخاصة بك؟ 

لقد عثرت لأول مرة على مفهوم اللاجنسية عن طريق الصدفة عندما كان عمري 14 عاما ، على LiveJournal لأحد الأصدقاء على الإنترنت. في ذلك الوقت ، اعتقدت فقط أنه من المنطقي أن تكون اللاجنسية واحدة من التوجهات الجنسية المحتملة ولم أكن أعتقد أنها ذات صلة بي بعد. فقط عندما كان عمري 16 عاما أدركت أنه من المنطقي أن أصف بأنني غير جنسي ، لأن زملائي في الفصل غالبا ما تحدثوا عن من هو ساخن أو لديه أصدقاء / صديقات ، ولم أكن مهتما بأي من ذلك. 

أعتبر محظوظا لأنني عرفت عن اللاجنسية في مثل هذه السن المبكرة ، مما يعني أنه كان لدي خيار المطالبة بالهوية. كانت رحلتي لاكتشاف الذات بسيطة نسبيا لأن أيا من تجاربي لم تعطني أي سبب للشك في لاجنسي ، ولكن كان لا يزال جزءا مهما من تلك الرحلة أن يكون لدي كلمة لوصف تجربتي ومجتمع يتعلق بالطريقة التي شعرت بها. 

كيري تشين
كيري تشين

تجدر الإشارة إلى أنه عندما بدأت في التعريف لأول مرة على أنني غير جنسي ، كنت أخلط بين اللاجنسية واللارومانسية لأنني لم أكن أعرف عن هذا الأخير بعد. تعلمت فقط عن مفهوم اللارومانسية بعد أن أصبحت أكثر نشاطا في المجتمع اللاجنسي ، عندما كان عمري 18 عاما وبدأت في الحصول على خاطبين غير مرغوب فيهم. بمجرد أن تعلمت الفرق بين اللاجنسية واللارومانسية ، أدركت أنه من المهم عدم الخلط بين المفهومين ، وأنه سيكون من الأدق وصف بأنني غير رومانسي ولاجنسي. 

ما هو أفضل شيء في كونك جزءا من مجتمع الآس؟ 

أعتقد أن أفضل شيء في كونك جزءا من مجتمع الآس هو القدرة على مشاركة الخبرات ذات الصلة حول مدى عدم ارتباطنا بالروايات الجنسية الشائعة [الأشخاص الذين لا يعرفون أنفسهم على أنهم لاجنسيون] عن الجنس والعلاقات. بعد كل شيء ، هذا هو الهدف من وجود مجتمع قائم على الهوية. قد لا يكون لدينا الكثير من القواسم المشتركة ، ولكن يمكننا التواصل مع بعضنا البعض بسبب هذا الشيء المحدد. 

أنا أيضا أحب حقا المناقشات الدقيقة حول العلاقات والحياة الجنسية والمعايير الاجتماعية المرتبطة بها التي لدينا في مجتمع الآس. أعتقد أن العديد منهم مرتبطون بالأشخاص الوثنيين أيضا! 

لماذا من المهم أن يكون لدينا يوم مخصص للاعتراف باللاجنسية على مستوى العالم؟ 

نحن بحاجة إلى يوم للاعتراف باللاجنسية لأن الكثير من الناس ما زالوا لا يعرفون حتى أنها موجودة! الوعي والرؤية مهمان للغاية لأنه في المجتمع اللاجنسي هناك الكثير من الأشخاص الذين يذكرون أنهم يتمنون لو أنهم عرفوا عن اللاجنسية في وقت سابق ، لأنهم قبل أن يعرفوا أن كونك غير جنسي كان خيارا ، اعتقدوا أن هناك شيئا خاطئا في أنفسهم. لو كانت اللاجنسية أكثر شهرة، لكان بإمكانهم اكتشافها عاجلا وتجنب هذه الصراعات. 

الاعتراف العالمي مهم بشكل خاص لأن اللاجنسية قد تؤثر على حياة الناس بشكل مختلف اعتمادا على السياق الثقافي. على سبيل المثال، في حين أن التوقعات بالزواج وإنجاب الأطفال ربما تكون موجودة في معظم البلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم، فإن الضغط أقوى في بعض الثقافات من غيرها، وهذه قضية اجتماعية من المرجح أن تؤثر على الأشخاص اللاجنسيين.  

يستهدف اليوم الدولي لللاجنسية (IAD) بشكل خاص زيادة الوعي باللاجنسية في بلدان أخرى غير الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة ، وخاصة في البلدان التي لا تكون فيها اللغة الرئيسية هي الإنجليزية. لقد كنت أعمل على تحقيق هذا الهدف من خلال مساعدة فريق IAD على ترجمة المحتوى إلى اللغة الصينية. 

ما هي النصيحة التي تقدمها لشخص يتساءل عما إذا كان قد يندرج تحت مظلة الآس ويبحث عن الدعم؟ 

أوصي بالانضمام إلى مجموعة الآس المحلية الخاصة بك ومناقشة تجاربك مع أشخاص آخرين (عبر الإنترنت أو شخصيا). ارجع إلى موقع الويب الخاص باللاجنسيين الأستراليين للمجموعات المحلية داخل أستراليا ، أو موقع IAD على الويب للمجموعات في البلدان الأخرى. 

توجد المجتمعات اللاجنسية الدولية أيضا عبر الإنترنت في شكل منتديات مخصصة بالإضافة إلى مجموعات على منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المختلفة ، ولكن حيثما كان ذلك متاحا ، أعتقد أن المجموعات المحلية عادة ما تكون خيارا أفضل لأن السياق المحلي يمكن أن يكون مهما في هذه المناقشات ، كما أنها تميل إلى أن تكون أكثر أمانا من المساحات المفتوحة الأكبر على الإنترنت. 

هناك أيضا الكثير من مواد القراءة حول اللاجنسية المتاحة عبر الإنترنت إذا لم تكن مستعدا للتحدث مع أشخاص آخرين حول هذا الموضوع حتى الآن. يحتوي Aces & Aros على مجموعة جيدة من المحتوى التمهيدي. 

الأستراليون اللاجنسيون
فريق اللاجنسيين الأستراليين في موكب سيدني للمثليين والمثليات ماردي غرا لهذا العام

نحن محظوظون بما فيه الكفاية لوجودك في لجنة سيدني وورلد برايد برايد - كيف تعمل على ضمان شعور الناس بأنهم ممثلون في مهرجان العام المقبل؟ 

أنا أعمل مع فريق اللاجنسيين الأستراليين لتنظيم حدث الآس لمهرجان العام المقبل.  

في السنوات الماضية ، عملت شبكة الرؤية والتعليم اللاجنسي مع مجموعات لاجنسية محلية لإدارة مؤتمر الآس جنبا إلى جنب مع WorldPride. آمل أن يكون حدث اللاجنسيين الأستراليين جزءا من مؤتمر الآس وحدثا رسميا لمجتمع سيدني وورلد برايد. 

وأريد أيضا أن يعقد مؤتمر حقوق الإنسان جلسة للقضايا اللاجنسية. أشعر أن الكثير من الناس لا يدركون حتى أن هناك قضايا محددة لحقوق الإنسان تؤثر على الأشخاص اللاجنسيين ، لذلك يجب أن يأتي المحتوى من داخل المجتمع. 

كيف يمكن لمجتمع LGBTQIA + في سيدني (وجميعنا على نطاق أوسع) ممارسة تحالف أفضل ، لضمان شعور الأشخاص بالدعم والاحتفال ، ليس فقط اليوم ولكن دائما؟

الأهم من ذلك ، يجب على مجتمع LGBTQIA + الأوسع الانتباه عندما يتحدث الأشخاص عن القضايا التي تؤثر علينا ويدرجوننا في المناقشات حول كيفية تأثير الحياة الجنسية على جوانب مختلفة من حياتنا. تذكر أن مظلة الآس تتضمن مجموعة واسعة من التجارب ولا تعني فقط "الأشخاص الذين لا يمارسون الجنس" ، لذلك لا يوجد عموما تفسير "مقاس واحد يناسب الجميع" لكيفية وجود مشكلة ما ذات صلة بالأشخاص الذين يعانون من الآس. 

يمكن للحلفاء أيضا إظهار الدعم لمجتمع الآس من خلال مشاركة معلومات دقيقة حول اللاجنسية. ومع ذلك ، يجب أن يكون الأشخاص الذين يشاركون محتوى حول اللاجنسية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مستعدين للإشراف على التعليقات. اعتمادا على ظروفك ، قد يعني هذا إما الرد على التعليقات السلبية أو حذفها فقط ، ولكن في كلتا الحالتين يجب أن توضح أن المشاعر المعادية للجنس غير مرحب بها. 

من هم بعض القادة الذين يجب أن نتبعهم؟ 

أولا ، أود أن أوصي نيكي فيفيكا وفيونا أولوغلين ، وكلاهما من الكوميديين الأستراليين الذين تعتمد أعمالهم على تجاربهم في اللاجنسية.  

على الصعيد الدولي ، أود أن أوصي بكاتبي الآس أنجيلا تشن وجولي سوندرا ديكر. هناك أيضا بعض قادة الآس المشهورين على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، مثل Jaiden Animations و Ace Dad Advice

وأخيرا وليس آخرا، ينبغي أن أذكر ياسمين بينوا. كعارضة ملابس داخلية سوداء ، تتحدى الصور النمطية لما قد يعتقد الناس أن الشخص اللاجنسي يبدو عليه. 

اليوم ودائما ، نحتفل وندافع عن مجتمعنا الذي يحدد الآس. لمعرفة المزيد عن اليوم العالمي للاجنسانية ، توجه إلى موقع الويب الخاص بهم. أو لمزيد من الدعم ، نوصي بالتواصل مع فريق اللاجنسيين الأستراليين. 

إذا كنت مبدعا أستراليا ، فهل فكرت في تنظيم عملك كجزء من سيدني وورلد برايد؟ مزيد من المعلومات هنا. 

Mتأكد من اشتراكك في نشرتنا الإخبارية للحصول على قصص مستقبلية مثل هذه!

انضم إلى مجتمع سيدني وورلد برايد على فيسبوك وإنستغرام وتويتر وتيك توك

الاعتراف بالبلد

سيقام سيدني وورلد برايد على أراضي شعب جاديجال وكاميراغال وبيدجيغال وداروغ وداراوال الذين هم الحراس التقليديون لحوض سيدني.

نحن نقدم احترامنا لكبار السن في الماضي والحاضر. كان دائما دائما ستكون أراضي السكان الأصليين.

ينحدر السكان الأصليون وسكان جزر مضيق توريس من العديد من العشائر والمجتمعات المختلفة في جميع أنحاء أستراليا ، وفي عام 2023 سيجتمعون كواحد ، للاحتفال مع مجتمع LGBTQIA + العالمي.

Under the ace umbrella – Kerry Chin on International Asexuality Day





LinkedIn

Today is International Asexuality Day! To celebrate we spoke to Kerry Chin – community leader and member of Sydney WorldPride’s Pride Committee, about the ace umbrella and his experiences discovering his own asexual identity. 

For those who might not be aware, could you tell us about asexuality and what the ace umbrella is? 

The ace umbrella is a category of sexual orientations that are defined by lack of sexual attraction, including asexuality, demisexuality, and grey asexuality. There are also various other terms for describing more specific identities related to asexuality. [Ace is a nickname – not an acronym.] 

Asexuality is when a person experiences little or no sexual attraction. Demisexuality is when a person is only able to experience sexual attraction after developing an emotional bond with someone. Grey asexuality is when a person only very rarely experiences sexual attraction. 

It should also be emphasised that being ace is about attraction – not action, libido, or attitude towards sex. Some ace people enjoy having sex, and others do not! It’s also not a medical condition. 

Asexuality is also separate from aromanticism. Aromanticism is defined by the lack of romantic attraction. Some asexual people are also aromantic (like myself), and others experience romantic attraction. Separating out sexual and romantic attraction is known as the Split Attraction Model (SAM). While it originated in the asexual community, the terminology can also be applicable to anyone whose romantic orientation does not align with their sexual orientation. 

What was your journey to discovering your asexuality like? 

I first stumbled upon the concept of asexuality by chance when I was 14, on an internet friend’s LiveJournal. At the time, I just thought that it made logical sense for asexuality to be one of the possible sexual orientations and didn’t think it was relevant to me yet. Only when I was 16 did I realise that it made sense to describe myself as asexual, because my classmates often talked about who’s “hot” or having boyfriends/girlfriends, and I wasn’t interested in any of that. 

I consider myself fortunate to have known about asexuality at such an early age, which meant that I had the option to claim the identity. My self-discovery journey was relatively simple because none of my experiences gave me any reason to doubt my asexuality, but it was still an important part of that journey to have a word to describe my experience and a community that related to the way I felt. 

Kerry Chin
Kerry Chin

It should be noted that when I first started identifying as asexual, I was conflating asexuality with aromanticism as I didn’t know about the latter yet. I only learnt about the concept of aromanticism after I became more active in the asexual community, when I was 18 and started to get unwanted suitors. Once I learnt about the difference between asexuality and aromanticism, I realised that it was important not to conflate the two concepts, and that it would be more accurate to describe myself as both aromantic and asexual. 

What is the best thing about being a part of the ace community? 

I think the best thing about being a part of the ace community is being able to share relatable experiences about how much we don’t relate to common allosexual [people who don’t identify as asexual] narratives of sex and relationships. After all, that’s the point of having an identity-based community. We might not even have much else in common, but we can relate to each other because of this one specific thing. 

I also really like the nuanced discussions about relationships, sexuality and associated social norms that we have in the ace community. I think many of them are relevant to allosexual people too! 

Why is it important that we have a day dedicated to recognising asexuality globally? 

We need a day for recognising asexuality because a lot of people still don’t even know it exists! Awareness and visibility are so important because in the asexual community there are plenty of people who mention wishing they knew about asexuality earlier, because before they knew that being asexual was an option, they thought there was something wrong with themselves. If asexuality were more well-known, they could have found out sooner and avoided these struggles. 

Global recognition is particularly important because asexuality may affect people’s lives differently depending on cultural context. For example, while expectations to get married and have children probably exist in most countries around the world, the pressure is stronger in some cultures than others, and that is a social issue that is likely to affect asexual people.  

International Asexuality Day (IAD) is particularly targeted at raising awareness of asexuality in countries other than the US and UK, and especially in countries where the main language is not English. I’ve been working towards this target by helping the IAD team translate content into Chinese. 

What advice would you give to someone wondering whether they might fall under the ace umbrella and looking for support? 

I would recommend joining your local ace group and discussing your experiences with other ace people (online or in-person). Refer to the Australian Asexuals website for local groups within Australia, or the IAD website for groups in other countries. 

International asexual communities also exist online in the form of dedicated forums as well as groups on various social media platforms, but where available, I think local groups are usually a better option because local context can be important in these discussions, and they also tend to be safer than larger open online spaces. 

There is also plenty of reading material about asexuality available online if you’re not ready to talk to other people about it yet. Aces & Aros has a good compilation of introductory content. 

Australian Asexuals
The Australian Asexuals team at this year’s Sydney Gay & Lesbian Mardi Gras Parade

We’re also fortunate enough to have you on the Sydney WorldPride Pride Committee – how are you working to ensure ace people feel represented in next year’s festival? 

I’m working with the Australian Asexuals team to organise an ace event for next year’s festival.  

In past years, the Asexual Visibility and Education Network has worked with local asexual groups to run an ace conference alongside WorldPride. I’m hoping that Australian Asexuals’ event will be both part of the ace conference and an official Sydney WorldPride community event. 

I also want the Human Rights Conference to have a session for asexual issues. I feel like a lot of people aren’t even aware that there are specific human rights issues affecting asexual people, so the content needs to come from within the community. 

How can Sydney’s LGBTQIA+ community (and all of us more broadly) practice better allyship, to ensure ace people feel supported and celebrated, not just today but always?

Most importantly, the broader LGBTQIA+ community should pay attention when ace people are talking about issues that affect us and include us in discussions about how sexuality affects various aspects of our lives. Remember that the ace umbrella includes a wide range of experiences and doesn’t just mean “people who don’t have sex”, so there generally isn’t a “one-size-fits-all” explanation of how an issue might be relevant to ace people. 

Allies can also show support to the ace community by sharing accurate information about asexuality. However, people who share content about asexuality on social media should be prepared to moderate the comments. Depending on your circumstances, this might mean either responding to the negative comments or just deleting them, but either way you should make it clear that anti-asexual sentiments aren’t welcome. 

Who are some ace-identifying leaders that we should be following? 

Firstly, I would recommend Nikki Viveca and Fiona O’Loughlin, both Australian comedians whose work draw on their experiences of asexuality.  

Internationally, I would recommend ace writers Angela Chen and Julie Sondra Decker. There are also some popular ace leaders on social media, like Jaiden Animations and Ace Dad Advice

Last but not least, I should mention Yasmin Benoit. As a black lingerie model, she challenges stereotypes of what people might think an asexual person looks like. 

Today and always, we celebrate and advocate for our ace-identifying community. To find out more about International Asexuality Day, head to their website. Or, for further support, we recommend reaching out to the Australian Asexuals team. 

If you are an Australian ace creator, have you considered staging your work as part of Sydney WorldPride? More information here. 

Make sure you sign up to our newsletter for future stories like this one!

Join the Sydney WorldPride community on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and TikTok

Acknowledgement of country

Sydney WorldPride will take place on the lands of the Gadigal, Cammeraygal, Bidjigal, Darug, Dharawal people who are the Traditional Custodians of the Sydney Basin.

We pay our Respects to their Elders past and present. Always was Always will be Aboriginal Land.

Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander people come from many different clans and communities across Australia & in 2023 will come together as one, to celebrate with our global LGBTQIA+ community.